Home > Glossary > Principality


The word ‘Principality’ comes from the Latin term ‘principatus’ and can be translated as princedoms or rulers. A principality generally refers to a territory ruled by a prince or a sovereign. It can also be interpreted as a position or authority of supreme power. Additionally, the word Principality also has Biblical connotations.

Principality In The Bible

In the New Testament, the term Principality refers to ruling or governing over someone. It also denotes superhuman agencies – both angels and demons, particularly in the Romans, the Ephesians, and the Colossians.

In Christian theology, Principality can either refer to a specific order of angels or, as mentioned in Ephesians 6:12, to supermundane powers who are in conflict with God. According to Christian angelology, angels are the agents of God.

Hierarchies Of Angels

Various works in Christian theology and angelology have delineated certain hierarchies of the angels. In his book the Summa Theologiae, Thomas Aquinas writes that these categories are based on the varying degrees concerning the angels’ creation, their power of intercession with God, and the level of their direct entrustment in the lives of humans.

The Greek Christian theologian and Neoplatonic philosopher Pseudo-Dionysius the Areopagite gave the most popular categorization in his work on angelology called De Coelesti Hierarchia or The Celestial Hierarchy. He categorized the angels within various spheres containing different angelic denominations.

According to Pseudo-Dionysius the Areopagite, the angels in the first sphere can see and worship God directly. The angels here are, thus, in direct communication with God. The first sphere includes the Seraphim, the Cherubim, and the Thrones. In the second sphere, the angels work as the heavenly governors of the creation. They guide and rule the spirits. Dominations or Lordships, Virtues, and Powers or Authorities belong to this category. Lastly, the third sphere includes the Principalities or Rulers, the Archangels, and the Angels.

Principalities In Christian Theology

Principalities are the fifth level of angels within Christian angelology. Principalities are angels that guide and protect people, nations, and institutions like the Church. They lead groups of angels and entrust them with fulfilling the divine ministry of God.

Principality In Numerology

Principalities also form a symbol in numerology. Depending on their specific numerological charts, they can have varying meanings for different people. Numerologists can interpret these symbols according to a person’s numerical chart. In Chaldean numerology, the numerical value of Principalities is 1, whereas, in Pythagorean numerology, it is 7.

Manda d hayyi Angel
Kyle Gray (British Author)